Robert Falcon Scott I’m not

On my recent trip to the UK I travelled alone.  I was away for five days and slept in three locations.

I went from Dublin to City Airport by plane, to Victoria Station by taxi and then to Broadstairs in Kent by train.  I went from Broadstairs to Stratford International then bus to Stratford General then underground train to Barkingside. Barkingside to Mile End on the tube,  to Hackney by taxi.  Hackney to City Airport and then home to Dublin by plane.

When I graphically and excitedly related my journey to daughter S she said I was being dramatic and when brother-in-law Peter said “Who do you think you are, Scott of the Antarctic” I got the message.

All right, all right I know.  But in my defence for someone who rarely travels further than Grafton Street and occasionally Avoca in Wicklow and always accompanied it was for me a great accomplishment.  Scott was a great man but he did have fellow travellers.

Robert Falcon Scott CVO (6 June 1868 – 29 March 1912) was an English Royal Navy officer and explorer who led two expeditions to the Antarctic regions: the Discovery Expedition, 1901–04, and the ill-fated Terra Nova Expedition, 1910–13. During this second venture, Scott led a party of five which reached the South Pole on 17 January 1912, only to find that they had been preceded by Roald Amundsen‘s Norwegian expedition. On their return journey, Scott and his four comrades all perished from a combination of exhaustion, hunger and extreme cold.

I survived!

3 thoughts on “Robert Falcon Scott I’m not

  1. That is an odyssey and all the harder because of the sad reason for your journey I would imagine. So sorry about your brother’s death. You’ve written about it beautifully and I will be reading you regularly from now on.

Leave a Reply

