Shmillions!

Millions, Billions, are numbers bandied about all over the place these days. I can never quite get my head around these vast figures and what they actually mean in real terms.

Listening to Radio 4 this morning put it in perspective.  In order to show the vast difference between these two amounts an illustration was given with time:  1 million seconds is equal to approximately 11 days and 1 billion seconds to 31 years.

So just maybe now when I hear about billions outstanding in the economy I will feel, well not better, more aware let’s say, more able to contemplate the enormity of it all.  How about you?

5 thoughts on “Shmillions!

  1. I’m absolutely with you, it simply makes my head spin – and I see these kinds of figures on an almost daily basis. Which, by the way, doesn’t help at all, quite to the contrary: You get used to the figures without really thinking about them. I suspect this is true for politicians, as well, when the government asks parliament for a few more billions to rescue whoever wants to be rescued this week, they just nod it off without realising that a billion more is not quite the same as a Euro more…

  2. It certainly does make it more clearer. I had no idea that a billion was that much more Ann! Its quite exasperating to think what a Trillion or even a Zillion would be – my mind is boggling:)

  3. It is a great way to think of those numbers.
    I think you have to be a criminal before you will understand the economy
    though.

Leave a Reply

